Home » MTV Media Network obtains broadcast rights for 2023 Rugby World Cup

MTV Media Network obtains broadcast rights for 2023 Rugby World Cup


Colombo (LNW): The MTV Media Network has obtained the broadcast rights for the 2023 Rugby World Cup, and accordingly, the matches will be telecast on TV1, ShakthiTV and SirasaTV from September 08 to October 28, 2023, the news agency said in a statement yesterday (05).

The Rugby tournament will also be streamed live on www.sirasatv.lk.

“The Rugby World Cup must be made accessible to all Sri Lankans for free. And that’s what we wanted to achieve in securing the broadcast rights. We’ve achieved that, and I’m happy”, said Chevaan Daniel, Group Director of The MTV Media Network and the Capital Maharaja Group.

“Being the official broadcaster of last year’s T20 World Cup, the recent Cricket World Cup Qualifiers and the ongoing Asia Cup, we have built a sound reputation among the world’s sporting bodies and broadcasters, and we expect to present many more global sports events”, said Susara Dinal, CEO of MTV Channel Pvt Ltd.

The Rugby tournament features the world’s twenty best teams and is being held across nine stadiums in France. It will begin this Friday (08) when hosts France take on the mighty All Blacks of New Zealand.

Defending champs South Africa will first be in action on September 10 versus Scotland.

The Rugby World Cup will be streamed parallel to the ongoing Cricket Asia Cup, and the Cricket World Cup that is scheduled to commence shortly.

The battle for the coveted Webb Ellis Trophy will see a first round where teams will be in five pools in which each plays the other four in a round-robin format. The top two teams will go through to the quarter-finals, which will be in a single-elimination format with the winners going through to the semi-finals and the final.

Pool-A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Uruguay and Namibia.
Pool-B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania.
Pool-C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Portugal.
Pool-D: England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile.

This will be the 10th edition of the Rugby World Cup, which is held every four years.


Leave a Comment

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture.
You can enter the Tamil word or English word but not both
Anti-Spam Image