Home » Resolution to constitute National Council on Sep. 20th

Resolution to constitute National Council on Sep. 20th


Resolution to constitute the Parliament Committee called the "National Council" has now been added to the Addendum to the Order Book for the coming September 20th.

Thus, the National Council will consist of the Speaker as the Chair, the Prime Minister, Leader of the House of Parliament, the Leader of the Opposition in Parliament, the Chief Government Whip and not more than 35 Members of Parliament representing the Ninth Parliament from recognized Political Parties in Sri Lanka as determined by the Leaders of the Political Parties.

Accordingly, the National Council shall have the jurisdiction and general responsibilities in order to;

Determine the general priorities of Parliament to guide the formulation of short, medium and long-term national policies;

Agree on short and medium-term common minimum programmes in respect of the stabilization of the economy; and

Arrange special meetings with the Ministers of the Cabinet of Ministers, the National Council, the Chairpersons of the Special Committees and Youth observers of Youth Organizations.

The National Council shall have powers to request reports from Sectoral Oversight Committees, The Committee on Public Finance, The Committee on Public Accounts, The Committee on Public Enterprises, The Committee on Banking and Financial Services, The Committee on Ways and Means, The Committee on Economic Stabilization; and Any Committee controlling Public Finance.


Leave a Comment

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture.
You can enter the Tamil word or English word but not both
Anti-Spam Image