Home » Several institutions under Defence ministry, changed

Several institutions under Defence ministry, changed


President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has issued a Gazette Extraordinary with regard to two new ministries.

Accordingly, several institutions including the immigration department, the Board of Investment, Colombo Port City Commission and industrial parks have been placed under the ministry of Technology and Investment Promotion.

A Ministry of Women, Child Affairs and Social Empowerment was also created.

Sri Lanka does not have permanent secretaries and both ministries and secretaries are fluid.

Under Sri Lanka’s constitution, the ‘impermanent secretaries’ lose office as soon as the Prime Minister resigns and the cabinet is dissolved. After ex-Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa resigned, the portfolios reverted to the President, under the ministry of defence.

Click here for the complete gazette notification.


Leave a Comment

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture.
You can enter the Tamil word
Anti-Spam Image