Home » SLFP split on vote!

SLFP split on vote!


The 14 Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) parliamentarians are said to be split into two factions in selecting a new President, according to internal sources.

It is said that the two members, Suren Raghavan and Shantha Bandara, who are already working with the government would support the decision of the SLPP.

It is also reported that parliamentarians Nimal Siripala de Silva, Mahinda Amaraweera, Chamara Sampath and Jagath Pushpakumara have agreed to back Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

It was earlier decided that former President and SLFP Leader Maithripala Sirisena would contest for presidency I order to prevent a split within the party.

Related news :

Maithri to also contest for Presidency?


Leave a Comment

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture.
You can enter the Tamil word
Anti-Spam Image