Home » Speaker announces GR's resignation ; Parliament to convene on July 17

Speaker announces GR's resignation ; Parliament to convene on July 17


Speaker of Parliament Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena has officially announced that Gotabaya Rajapaksa has resigned as the President of Sri Lanka.

The Speaker said this while making a special statement at his residence a short while ago.

Noting that he has received the resignation, Mr. Abeywardena said that accordingly, the President has officially resigned from his post from July 14.

He added that the constitutional process to appoint a new President will be underway from now onwards. Until that process is completed, Ranil Wickremesinghe will function as Acting President.

He also urged the utmost support from party leaders, state official and tri forces to ensure that this constitutional process is concluded in a democratic and transparent manner.

Noting that Parliament will convene on July 16, he urged all MPs to attend and says he expects the new President will be appointed in a short period of 07 days.

He also urged the public to ensure a peaceful environment to allow the MPs to engage in the democratic parliamentary process.

Related News

Official statement on GR's resignation, tomorrow! 


Leave a Comment

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture.
You can enter the Tamil word
Anti-Spam Image