Home » Who will be the President and the Prime Minister?

Who will be the President and the Prime Minister?


Many discussions were held on the election of the President in an all-party government upon the resignation of the current President and the Prime Minister and the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), several ex government members grown together as an independent group consisting of Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila and Vasudewa Nanayakkara, and other political groups held many discussions in this regard yesterday (10).

One discussion was held at SJB member Thalatha Athukorala’s residence in Nugegoda and another at the Sri Lanka Communist Party Headquarters.

A common ground was reached that the President and the Prime Minister should be elected by all together without catering to problems in Parliament.

Accordingly, Leader of the SJB Sajith Premadasa and Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Dallas Alahapperuma were nominated to the post of President. It has also been suggested that one of these two MPs should become the President and the other the Prime Minister in an all-party government in a move to resolve the crisis peacefully.

It was also noteworthy that the National People’s Power (NPP) led by the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) and front line members of the SLPP did not attend the discussions.



Leave a Comment

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture.
You can enter the Tamil word or English word but not both
Anti-Spam Image